The University of Winchester has formed Compact partnerships with a number of schools and colleges to increase participation rates in Higher Education. Find out who are partners are, who can apply and how to become involved.

View content


The University of Winchester is committed to encouraging and supporting all students who have academic potential and ability to progress to higher education.
We have therefore formed compact partnerships with a number of schools and colleges. The University's role in forming this partnership is:

  • To improve participation rates in Higher Education.
  • To involve people in Higher Education who come from sections of the community which are under-represented in Higher Education.
  • To effect easier transition from Further Education/Sixth Form to Higher Education.
  • To work together in a collaborative and collegiate partnership.

If you are a member of staff from a school or college and are not a Compact Partner but would like to discuss the partnership further, or are a potential applicant and want to know about entry requirements via the Compact Partnerships please get in contact with your Senior Development Officer by email: or telephone: +44 (01962) 827193

Useful documents:

Tutors' Supporting Application Form

Compact leaflet

Compact poster

FAQs: Compact Scheme

What is the Compact Scheme?

Students applying through the Compact Scheme are guaranteed an offer of a place for non-interview courses. For courses that require an interview as part of the application process, compact applicants are guaranteed an invitation to interview.
Compact applicants can receive extra support for their transition to university. A lower offer, place in student housing and/or a contact in our Student Services department can be arranged. Compact applicants should speak to their Tutor or Careers Adviser and ask them to complete a Tutor's Supporting Application Form (see above) in order to request one or more of these.

Who can apply through the Compact Scheme?

In order to qualify as a Compact applicant three requirements must be fulfilled.

Firstly, applicants will need to meet/be predicted to meet the academic qualifications required by the course (please see individual course information for further details).

Secondly, applicants must meet one of the following criteria:

  • Students whose parents have no previous experience of study in Higher Education
  • Students who have difficult financial circumstances
  • Students who are from black, Asian and minority ethnic backgrounds
  • Students who have problems relating to health, disability or bereavement
  • Students who have caring responsibilities
  • Students who have been in local authority care
  • Students who have a disrupted pattern of education
  • Students who are from a military service family
  • Students who are asylum-seekers
  • Students who are from a group which is under-represented in Higher Education

Thirdly, applicants must attend one of our Compact partner schools or colleges.

Who are our current Compact Partners?

The following are our Compact Partners:

  • The Arnewood School
  • Barton Peveril College
  • Basingstoke College of Technology
  • The Bishop of Winchester Academy
  • The Bournemouth and Poole College
  • Bournemouth School for Girls
  • Bracknell and Wokingham College
  • Brockenhurst College
  • Eastleigh College
  • Esher College
  • Fareham College
  • The Sixth Form College, Farnborough
  • Farnham College
  • Godalming College
  • Havant and South Downs College (including the Alton Campus)
  • Highbury College
  • The Isle of Wight College
  • Itchen College
  • Nishkam School Trust
  • Oxted School
  • Peter Symonds College
  • Portsmouth College
  • Queen Elizabeth's School
  • Queen Mary's College
  • Reading College
  • Richard Taunton Sixth Form College
  • Ryde Academy
  • Salisbury Sixth Form College
  • Southampton City College
  • Sparsholt College Group (including Andover College)
  • St Anne's Catholic School
  • St Vincent Sixth Form College
  • Totton College
  • Treloar’s College
  • The Wellington Academy
  • Wiltshire College (all campuses)
  • Woking College
  • Worthing College
  • Yateley School

Future Students

Head of Future Students
Susan Henderson

Future Students Officer
Laura Lincoln

Schools & Colleges Senior Development Officers
Ruth Boyce
Alix Hickman
Lucy McDonagh
Alison Wilson

Schools & Colleges Development Officer
Jessie Concannon

Widening Participation

Director of Widening Participation
Sarah-Louise Collins

Access and Outreach Coordinators
William Kelly
Lauren Smith-Birch

Contact our Future Students team


+44 (0) 1962 827543


Contact our Widening Participation team


+44 (0) 1962 826474